The People’s Lawyer

Charges for assaulting a West Virginia athletic official

On Behalf of | Sep 6, 2022 | Criminal Defense

West Virginia sports fans can sometimes get overexcited. In some cases, this can even lead to them physically confronting a coach, referee or umpire. If a person is accused of a physical confrontation with an athletic official, they should know the law and how to craft a defense.

When would there be a charge of assault or battery on athletic officials?

Assault is a violent injury to another person or putting them in fear of being violently injured. Battery is the unlawful and intentional contact to provoke or insult them and cause them physical harm.

If these acts are committed against an athletic official while they are working in that capacity, it is a misdemeanor. For assault, a conviction will result in a fine of up to $500, a jail sentence of up to six months or both. For battery, it is also a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $1,000, jail for up to 12 months, or both.

Local and experienced legal help can be essential in assault and battery cases

A disagreement over a decision made by the official whether that is as a referee, an umpire or a person in some other position of authority during the event can lead to people losing control and spark a fight. Knowing the law for these incidents is imperative when trying to address the charges.

Given the penalties that can be assessed for violent crimes, it is important to be prepared to deal with the charges.

Consulting with local and recognizable legal professionals with a strong reputation for providing high-quality services while understanding people from the area can be helpful with a defense. This can be crucial to reach a good result, avoid the harshest consequences and prevent an unfortunate incident from being personally, financially and professionally costly.